Attributes of BHAKTI

Having explained different aspects of “yogas” for bhakta, LORD goes on to explain the goals of bhakti. A bhakta can be distinguished by the following attributes from the ordinary person.

Type 1: Who has dedicated his mind and intellect in the LORD:

अद्वेष्टा सर्वभूतानां मैत्रः करुण एव च।
निर्ममो निरहङ्कारः समदुःखसुखः क्षमी।।12.13।।
12.13 अद्वेष्टा non-hater, सर्वभूतानाम् of (to) all creatures, मैत्रः friendly, करुणः compassionate, एव even, च and, निर्ममः without mineness, निरहङ्कारः without egoism, समदुःखसुखः balanced in pleasure and pain, क्षमी forgiving.

सन्तुष्टः सततं योगी यतात्मा दृढनिश्चयः।
मय्यर्पितमनोबुद्धिर्यो मद्भक्तः स मे प्रियः।।12.14।।
12.14 सन्तुष्टः contented, सततम् ever, योगी Yogi, यतात्मा self-controlled, दृढनिश्चयः possessed of firm conviction, मयि अर्पितमनोबुद्धिः with mind and intellect dedicated to Me, यः who, मद्भक्तः My devotee, सः he, मे to Me, प्रियः dear.

Type 2: Abhyasa Yogi – The one who is established in Practice:

यस्मान्नोद्विजते लोको लोकान्नोद्विजते च यः।
हर्षामर्षभयोद्वेगैर्मुक्तो यः स च मे प्रियः।।12.15।।
12.15 यस्मात् for whom, न not, उद्विजते is agitated, लोकः the world, लोकात् from the world, न not, उद्विजते is agitated, च and, यः who, हर्षामर्षभयोद्वेगैः by (from) joy, wrath, fear and anxiety, मुक्तः freed, यः who, सः he, च and, मे to Me, प्रियः dear.

Type 3: Karma Yogi – One who has given up choice of action:

अनपेक्षः शुचिर्दक्ष उदासीनो गतव्यथः।
सर्वारम्भपरित्यागी यो मद्भक्तः स मे प्रियः।।12.16।।
12.16 अनपेक्षः (he who is) free from wants, शुचिः pure, दक्षः expert, उदासीनः unconcerned, गतव्यथः free from pain, सर्वारम्भपरित्यागी renouncing all undertakings or commencements, यः who, मद्भक्तः My devotee, सः he, मे to Me, प्रियः dear.

यो न हृष्यति न द्वेष्टि न शोचति न काङ्क्षति।
शुभाशुभपरित्यागी भक्तिमान्यः स मे प्रियः।।12.17।।
12.17 यः who, न not, हृष्यति rejoices, न not, द्वेष्टि hates, न not, शोचति grieves, न not, काङ्क्षति desires, शुभाशुभपरित्यागी renouncing good and evil, भक्तिमान् full of devotion, यः who, सः he, मे to Me, प्रियः dear.

Type 4: Sarva Sanga Parityagi – The Final Goal of a Sannyasi:

समः शत्रौ च मित्रे च तथा मानापमानयोः।
शीतोष्णसुखदुःखेषु समः सङ्गविवर्जितः।।12.18।।
12.18 समः (he who is) the same, शत्रौ to foe, च and, मित्रे to friend, च and, तथा also, मानापमानयोः in honour and dishonour, शीतोष्णसुखदुःखेषु in cold and heat, in pleasure and pain, समः the same, सङ्गविवर्जितः free from attachment.

तुल्यनिन्दास्तुतिर्मौनी सन्तुष्टो येनकेनचित्।
अनिकेतः स्थिरमतिर्भक्तिमान्मे प्रियो नरः।।12.19।।
12.19 तुल्यनिन्दास्तुतिः to whom censure and praise are equal, मौनी — silent, सन्तुष्टः contented, येनकेनचित् with anything, अनिकेतः homeless, स्थिरमतिः steady-minded, भक्तिमान् full of devotion, मे to Me, प्रियः dear, नरः (that) man.

So, the final goal is to become a MUNI, “silent one” at the three layers of thought, word and deed. Being silent means not giving up; but not being emotionally attached to it. One who is not attached to his thoughts as these are my thoughts but dedicates them to the LORD as his thoughts, dedicates all his words to the LORD, dedicates all his actions to the LORD and lets LORD work through his instruments and ever contended with what comes on its own to him is the MUNI. He is most dear to LORD.

Finally Lord declares:
ये तु धर्म्यामृतमिदं यथोक्तं पर्युपासते।
श्रद्दधाना मत्परमा भक्तास्तेऽतीव मे प्रियाः।।12.20।।
12.20 ये who, तु indeed, धर्म्यामृतम् immortal Dharma (Law), इदम् this, यथोक्तम् as declared (above), पर्युपासते follow, श्रद्दधानाः endowed with faith, मत्परमाः regarding Me as their Supreme, भक्ताः devotees, ते they, अतीव exceedingly, मे to Me, प्रियाः dear.

Hence this is called “nectar of dharma” i.e., Bhakti as explained by Lord in 12th Chapter of Srimad Bhagavad Gita. He who understands this and follows it with faith is a Supreme Devotee.

om tat sat.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: